Community Forum

Mare and filly colors

Forum rules
You can link to a horse using our new custom BBCode:
[horse=1234]Horses Name[/horse]
This will display the most recent photo of the horse as well as a link to him.
Cottens
Visit My Farm
Visit My Farm

Mare and filly colors

Post by Cottens »

Hi !
I'm a bit lost with those 2 :
Pearl

Luna

I looked at the differents colors charts, but I can't figure if they are Perlino Dun or Silver Bay Pearl Dun or something else.
Also, I think I see a white mark around Luna's eye, but I'm not really sure.

Thank you for your help.
Caramelapple3
Visit My Farm
Visit My Farm

Re: Mare and filly colors

Post by Caramelapple3 »

Cottens wrote:Hi !
Pearl

Luna

I looked at the differents colors charts, but I can't figure if they are Perlino Dun or Silver Bay Pearl Dun or something else.

Thank you for your help.
I'm no expert, but here's what I think. I don't think they vary dun. Dun causes striping on a horses legs. They both are perlino, so they are bay with two cream genes. (you wouldn't call a horse with two creams bay) Pearl shows when there is also a cream gene or when there are two pearls, and I don't see any pearl. It usually gives the horse a warmer tone than cream would. (Or is it possible for pearl to hide in a double cream coat?) Nor do I see any pearl down the pedigree. They don't have silver. It would show in their names if they did. I believe that whitish mark around Luna's eye is greying. If it is, she will eventually grey out with age. She got it from her sire.

So I think the safest thing to say is that they are just perlino. I don't know much about other combinations of genes. Pearl's dam looks to be some sort of buckskin champagne? Her sire is a buckskin blanket. So she got one cream from both parents. 2 creams + a bay base coat = perlino. (Her parents are also bay based)