Community Forum

Thoughts on Conformation?

Weaving
Visit My Farm

Thoughts on Conformation?

Post by Weaving »

I'm not quite a month old on this game yet, but I've been suckered in to a premium account. I've been working pretty hard lately at breeding horses with strong conformation's for their event, in my case Belgians for Log Pull.

I was just wondering how much attention you guys pay to conformation vs breeding report? For those who do pay quite some attention, do you have cut off points etc?

I was pretty chuffed with this mare mostly for her nice high strength number. Is this really that important?
kidhedera
Visit My Farm

Re: Thoughts on Conformation?

Post by kidhedera »

Wooow, 21! That is pretty impressive. I'm still excited if my horses get conformation scores that aren't negative. >.>

Ok, so I started playing a few months ago, but had to go on hiatus for a bit cos of real life stuff, so when I started we didn't have the conformation page. So I was using these images as a rough guide for conformation: Perfect Conformation 1, Perfect Conformation 2. They might interest you.

I am trying to breed Forest Horses that are black and have feathering for people who are breeding new Friesian blood lines. Initially I was focusing on dressage and hunter/sports type horses, but then I was looking at the 'Perfect Conformation' pictures and I thought that since I really like the shape of the saddleseat horse best, why not focus on saddleseat traits instead?

So my rules are: Rehome if there are any reds or negative comments on a saddleseat trait (except for intelligence. Intelligence still can't be red, but negative comments aren't too bad for now). Eventually I'll rehome any horses without 4 positive comments for saddleseat traits (Balance, Movement, Agility, Intelligence btw).